Throwback: 1999 Source Hip-Hop Music Awards

On this day in 1999, the Source Hip-Hop Music Awards took place, hosted by TLC’s Left-Eye and Naughty By Nature’s Treach.

Screen Shot 2018-08-18 at 9.49.56 pm.PNG

It was the first all hip-hop awards show aired on network television.

Winners included Lauryn Hill, Busta Rhymes and Janet Jackson, OutKast, Jay-Z and Flipmode Squad.

Let’s take a look at some of the looks on the night:

Left-Eye, Lil’ Kim & Missy Elliott


Brandy & Lauryn Hill


Diddy, Will Smith & Busta Rhymes


Da Brat with Jermaine Dupri & Treach of Naughty By Nature with ex-wife Pepa of Salt-N-Pepa


Faith Evans with Coolio & Janet Jackson



Screen Shot 2018-08-18 at 9.43.36 pm.png

Nate Dogg, Warren G & Snoop Dogg

Screen Shot 2018-08-18 at 9.44.09 pm.png

Flipmode Squad

Screen Shot 2018-08-18 at 9.44.18 pm.png


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s