Mariah Carey’s new ‘Rarities’ collection is out now!

Mariah Carey has delighted fans with the release of ‘The Rarities‘ today, filled with never-before-heard tracks recorded throughout her career and other special treats.

The 32-track collection is now available globally to buy physically on CD, as well as across all digital music platforms.

CD 1

  1. Here We Go Around Again (1990)
  2. Can You Hear Me (1991)
  3. Do You Think Of Me (1993)
  4. Everything Fades Away (1993)
  5. All I Live For (1993)
  6. One Night (1995)
  7. Slipping Away (1996)
  8. Out Here On My Own (2000)
  9. Loverboy (2001) (Firecracker – Original Version)
  10. I Pray (2005)
  11. Cool On You (2007)
  12. Mesmerized (2012)
  13. Lullaby of Birdland (2014) (Live)
  14. Save The Day (2020) (With Ms. Lauryn Hill)
  15. Close My Eyes (2020) (Acoustic)

CD 2

Live at the Tokyo Dome, Japan
Recorded March 7, 1996

  1. Daydream Interlude (Daydream Sweet Dub Mix)
  2. Emotions
  3. Open Arms
  4. Forever
  5. I Don’t Wanna Cry
  6. Fantasy
  7. Always Be My Baby
  8. One Sweet Day
  9. Underneath The Stars
  10. Without You
  11. Make It Happen
  12. Just Be Good To Me
  13. Dreamlover
  14. Vision of Love
  15. Hero
  16. Anytime You Need a Friend
  17. All I Want For Christmas Is You

The physical release in Japan will exclusively include a bonus Blu-Ray disc of the Tokyo Dome concert. For international fans, this will be made available on Mariah’s YouTube channel this week.

A 4-LP vinyl edition of ‘The Rarities’ is available to pre-order exclusively on Mariah’s official website, in a bundle with her new memoir, and this will be shipped in December.

All of the tracks on ‘The Rarities’ have fascinating backstories including ‘Here We Go Around Again’ being the first track on her famous demo tape which helped land her first record deal, and ‘Can You Hear Me’ being recorded in hopes it would be picked up by Barbra Streisand.

A number of the songs are spoken about or referenced in Mariah’s memoir ‘The Meaning of Mariah Carey’, which was released earlier this week. She speaks about ‘Lullaby of Birdland’ being one of the first jazz songs she learned at age twelve, winning her first talent competition as a young girl singing Irene Cara’s ‘Out Here On My Own’, and explains the story behind the original version of ‘Loverboy’ which used a sample of ‘Firecracker’ by Yellow Magic Orchestra. The book also references ‘Close My Eyes’ from the ‘Butterfly’ album, which has been reimagined acoustically for this collection, as well as lyrics from ‘Everything Fades Away’.

‘Do You Think Of Me’ and ‘Slipping Away’ are well-loved b-sides which have never before been made available in the digital era. ‘I Pray’ was written by Mariah for a twelve-year-old artist featured in a 2005 segment of Oprah called ‘Wildest Dreams Come True’, but the world has never before heard it performed by Mariah herself.

All of the songs in this collection are magnificent, her voice soars across all the recordings and it’s crazy to think these gems were locked up in the vault for so long!

Listen below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: